Day 22 – A Song That Someone Has Sung To You

Day 22 - A Song That Someone Has Sung To You 1-13-13

A Song That Someone Has Sung To You

“Li’l Red Riding Hood” by Sam the Sham & The Pharaohs

My manager at my first job used to sing this to me all the time.  I was a teenager.  At his fortieth birthday party, he asked me to sleep with him and his wife.  UhOh  I declined.

The rest of the songs are all from my Daddy.  Yes Smilie  A few of them were linked with more details on a previous Challenge day.

“Hush, Little Baby” by my Daddy

He recorded this just for me, since it is my lullaby, after all, and no version quite like ours exists anywhere else.  Skype Old mm

“All The Pretty Little Ponies” by Kenny Loggins

I love horses and this song naturally made its way into Daddy’s repertoire to sing to me.  “Naturally” being I said, “Daddy, will you learn this and sing it to me?”  Skype Old giggle

“I Never Cared For You” by Willie Nelson

I linked Daddy to this song because it reminded me so much of my trust issues and how he is so patient with them.  He sings it to me once in awhile and it makes me smile.

“Soft Kitty” by Kaley Cuoco and Jim Parsons from The Big Bang Theory

“Soft Kitty” piano instrumental

Daddy and I quote this a lot, it’s so adorable!

“Hotel California” by The Eagles

This is one of my all-time favorite songs, and Daddy likes it, too.  He’ll sing it while doing other things and it makes me feel like he’s still thinking about me even if he’s multi-tasking.  Love8

Here’s Daddy’s song…

A Song Someone Has Sung to Me

As said yesterday, I made the mistake of using up all the songs early on that I should’ve saved for days like this. Ah well, live and learn. Waaaay back on Day 6 I mentioned this song and a friend of mine, Schmitty. Schmitty was and continues to be one of my best friends, though I am sad to say we’ve drifted apart. Recently I’ve discovered some hope anew in that she has actually texted me a couple times without me contacting her first. This is an oddity, she struggles against a powerful, “out of sight, out of mind” mentality. If a person is not there with her, they just kind of pass from her mind. It’s not on purpose and she doesn’t mean it in a mean way… she just doesn’t think about the people that aren’t with her. Because of this mentality, when I received her video I was shocked and very touched. As said before, she heard this song and knew I was going through a difficult time, and she took it upon herself to learn the song and play it for me. What makes it even more impressive to me is that she was, in my opinion, going through a FAR tougher time herself. So that she took the time to do something for me? That was a big deal to me. Despite having drifted apart some, I still love her deeply, and I still consider her in my top 5 friends.

Leave a Reply

