Day 21 – Your Favorite Song

Day 21 - Your Favorite Song 1-12-13

Sorry about the delay, peeps.  It’s been a discombobulated week!  This Challenge was time-consuming, but even so, it is not an exhaustive list of my all-time favorite songs, but a lot of recent favorites from the last two or so years.  Have fun with the genre whip-lash.  Bliss

Your Favorite Song

“I’m Yours” by Jason Mraz (Live on Earth)

This has been one of my top favorite songs for a few summers, now.  It’s just free, I can’t help but swing along with it and feel a little better.  This live version is my favorite, it brings me to my happy place.

“What Goes Around…” by Alesena

This was my go-to song for a year straight.  The CD barely left my car.  ‘Nuff said.

“Beautiful Girls” by Bayside

From the same CD as the above – Punk Goes Pop Volume Two.  Lots of fun and I love the original of this one as well.  I like to sing along an octave above.

“Give Me Everything” by Pitbull featuring Ne-Yo, Afrojack & Nayer

I dunno why but this one makes me happy and sad at the same time.  I really love it.

“Look At Me Now” by Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne and Busta Rhymes

This is by far my favorite rap EVER.  Busta Rhymes is a fuckin’ rock star, Chris Brown should be ashamed to even be on the same track.  Oh, and Lil Wayne is sexaaay.

“Love Lockdown” by Kanye West

This song makes me horny.  Just imagine what it does for me vibrating out of a sub.

“The Lazy Song” by Bruno Mars

Super feel-good song, who couldn’t love this?!  Reminds me of T who I used to work with.  Good times.

“Leave Out All The Rest” by Linkin Park

‘Nother song that makes me sad, hit at a dark point in my life.

“Electric City” by The Black Eyed Peas

I don’t even know what to say about this song, but I’m in love.  Welcome to Jamaica, have a nice day.  Evil2

“Flightless Bird, American Mouth” by Iron & Wine

I’ve talked about this song on previous Challenge days, but it really is one of my all-time favorite songs.  *dreamy sigh*

“Folsom Prison Blues” by Everlast

People seem to either love or hate this cover of Johnny Cash’s song.  I love it and have spent many nights listening to it on repeat.

“Somebody That I Used To Know” by Gotye

The music and vocals are mesmerizing and I just can’t get enough of this song.

“Single Ladies (Put a Ring on It)” by Beyonce

If I weren’t already bi, I would be after seeing this video.

“Koop Island Blues” by Koop

Haunting and awesome, I first saw this on So You Think You Can Dance with the “Butt Dance”.  Epic, man.  Epic.

“Jar of Hearts” by Christina Perri

So sadddd, FSM I love sad songs!  *shivers*

“Cyclone” by Baby Bash featuring T-Pain

This is one of my all-time favorite hip-hop songs.  The ONLY downside is that I can’t move my body like a cyclone.  Sad5

“Addicted2Me” by Anjulie

“Colombia” by Anjulie

“Boom” by Anjulie

Anjulie’s self-titled album spent many, many months as the only CD in my car.  I couldn’t narrow it down to one song, so there you have three of my favorites.  The first time I listened to the CD, I wasn’t terribly into it.  Then I listened again…and it was like Coltrane’s record in Mr. Holland’s Opus…I just couldn’t stop playin’ it.

“Ride On” by Celtic Thunder

“Heartland” by Celtic Thunder

Accents and long hair and pretty songs, oh my!  Celtic Thunder definitely won my heart, and these are two of my favorites.  They also had a Surfer Medley on YouTube that I adored, but sadly, ‘tis gone now.

“Dream A Little Dream Of Me” by Mama Cass

An all-time favorite song.  Just wonderful.  Skype happy

“Mr. Sandman” by Pink Champagne

After seeing the 2003 remake of The Music Man, I got all up in that barbershop quartet thang, and the ladies of Pink Champagne are the icing on the cake.

“Don’t Bring Me Down” by Electric Light Orchestra

This song is addictive and just makes me HAPPY!

“Rock ‘N Me” by Steve Miller Band

Another all-time favorite, something about this just makes me feel goooood.

“If You Want Me” by Marketa Irglova and Glen Hansard

This song is gorgeous and haunting and has been a favorite since the moment I first heard it.

“Lay All Your Love On Me” by Amanda Seyfriend from Mamma Mia!

Amanda Seyfried has such a pretty, sweet voice, and this is my favorite.  I can listen to it over and over.

“Travelin’ Man” by Ricky Nelson

I know he’s a man ho and everything, but who can resist this charm?  C’mon.

“Don’t Trust Me” by 3OH!3

Speaking of ho’s, this song always reminds me of…oh, wait.  Nevermind!  Skype Old giggle

“Fireflies” by Owl City

Pretty sure it’s near-impossible to not like this song.  Happy feelings, woo!

“All I Have To Do Is Dream” by The Everly Brothers

*clasps heart dramatically*  I adore this song.

“Islands In The Stream” by The Bee Gees

This song is dedicated to my Daddy.  I think of you every time I hear it, and I love you so, SO much!  *snuggles close and nestles into your arms*  Mwah.  I’m so happy I’m your Baby.

Here are my Daddy’s songs.  Love2

My Favorite Song

So I’m going to be honest, I’m starting to bog down on these Challenges. Even after taking a break because I was away from my computer for a few days I’m still feeling a bit sluggish about them. I do want to finish out, but it’s getting a little harder to motivate myself to do them. In the past I was excited about these Challenges, and now I’m less excited. At first I worked hard to not repeat any songs. Then, I was okay with repeating them so long as there was some new material too. Now, I find I’ve already used both my most favorite songs, and I don’t really want to make a ginormous list, so… Today is the first day with nothing new. These are, however, my MOST favorite songs out of all the music I listen to.

For a long time “Monster” by Skillet was my favorite song. I do feel I have a lot of anger and depression lurking down inside me, and sometimes it claws its way out. However, I have a good handle on things and I manage my anger and depression well. I have coping mechanisms and support, and my life is good. That doesn’t mean the monster isn’t there though… he’s just kept in check and handled when he needs to be. That was until a few months ago when my Baby was sharing Jason Mraz “I’m Yours” with me. It’s a nice song, and I started listening to some of his other music. I came across “I Won’t Give Up” and I was just blown away. There was not a single line or stanza that DIDN’T resonate with me and it quickly became my new favorite song.

Leave a Reply

