Day 17 – Dance Song

Truth be told, I like dancing, I just suck at it.  So there are a lot of songs I’d like to dance to, but I just can’t do it so I don’t think about it too much.  However, my favorite show is So You Think You Can Dance.  Dancing Stick Man

A Song That Makes You Want To Dance

“Flightless Bird, American Mouth” by Iron & Wine

This song always reminds me of a girl I used to have a crush on, S.  We’d play this song over and over and sigh dreamily, talking about dancing to it with “boys”.  I still sway whenever I listen to it, and think about waltzing.  *sniffles*

Here’s mah Daddy’s!

A Song That Makes Me Want To Dance

“Kickin’ Up Mud” by The Lacs (Yeah, I know, that song pops up a LOT…)

So this actually turned out to be a difficult Challenge as well, but not for the reasons I expected. I’m not a very good dancer, and thusly am very self-conscious about my dancing. So although a lot of songs will make me nod, drum my fingers, move my hands, or tap my feet, it takes a particular mood and just the right song to actually make me dance. Because of that I figured I was going to have a difficult time finding a song for this Challenge. I was pleasantly surprised when I found several, then my surprise turned to concern as I kept finding more and more. Eventually I ended up editing songs OUT of the list to make it more reasonably sized. So there it is! Also, I actually had to think about what dancing is, because the above things don’t actually constitute dancing. Nodding along with music is not dancing, and neither is snapping or drumming my fingers. Tapping my feet and swaying with the music gets closer, but it’s borderline. So I finally defined dancing (for me) as anything that makes me want to wiggle my hips.

So with all that said, I chose the above songs because when they come on I invariably find myself wiggling around, moving, and grooving along with the music. Most of the songs just have an awesome beat, and I was highly amused to find that Hip-hop/Rap makes me move the most. There’s a little Country and Rock in there, as well as a couple others that I’m not sure what the genre is, but overall it was Hip-Hop and Rap that made me move the most. Lastly, I want to comment again that “Party in the USA” is forever ruined (or given hope, not sure which?) for me due to the guy that signs it. The song itself isn’t anything more than just a catchy song that gets stuck in my head annoyingly. But now with it I always think of Stephen Torrence and his signing, and that makes me smile. So now when I hear it, I start signing the parts I know as well. Which includes, “moving my hips like yeah”. I can’t win…  tongue

Leave a Reply

