Day 16 – A Song That Has Made You Cry

Sorry about the delay, it’s been a very busy Christmas/New Year’s time!  I’m catching up to Daddy, he’s way ahead of me on the Challenges right now!

A Song That Has Made You Cry

Believe it or not, this list was about twice as big as it is, and I cut a ton of songs out…  What can I say, this is what comes of holding tears in for the first quarter-century you’re alive.  Blink

“Memory” by Elaine Paige and Helen Massie from Cats

Cats or not, the story of Grizabella gets to me and this song is, of course, the epitome of all the emotion in the show.  Besides Grizabella’s heartbreaking singing, there’s Jemima standing up singing about sweet hope and beautiful things.  I just love the song and I also associate it with my Grandma who passed away a few years ago.  She loved the song and we bought her a little music box that played it.  When it finally broke, we searched until we found another one, it was a magnet for her fridge.  Love8

“He Stopped Loving Her Today” by George Jones

This song makes me cry every time.  I swear it’s the saddest song in country music.

“Numb” piano instrumental, originally by Linkin Park

This song is deeply tied to a time in my life when everything was falling apart around me.  Numb is a very good description of how I was feeling during those years, because I couldn’t understand or face everything I was feeling, it was buried too deep.  I like the original version of this song, of course, but this version just slices me wide open.  I used to be able to play most of it on piano, but it’s been a few years.  Very emotional stuff…

“Moonlight Sonata”

Probably my number one favorite piece of classical music ever.  It’s so haunting and beautiful and sad.

“The House That Built Me” by Miranda Lambert

This song can make me sob outright.  Its story is different from mine, but the feelings are the same, and it conveys everything I feel about the house I grew up in and the happy times there, and where I’m at in life right now.  Conf2

“No Matter What” by Boyzone, written by Andrew Lloyd Webber

Something about Sir Andrew’s music just stirs deep emotion for me.  With or without the lyrics and voices, this song can bring tears to my eyes.  I often find myself singing it absent-mindedly.

“Goodbye My Lover” by James Blunt

This was a song for my ex, Michael.  I used to listen to it on the way to work at 4:00 A.M.  It was unrequited love, so there were a lot of tears shed on those dark mornings.

“Somewhere My Love (Lara’s Theme)” by Henry Mancini from Dr. Zhivago

“Somewhere My Love (Lara’s Theme)” by Chet Atkins from Dr. Zhivago

“Somewhere My Love (Lara’s Theme)” by Ray Conniff from Dr. Zhivago

I honestly couldn’t decide which version of this song to link.  It always reminds me of my Grandma because Dr. Zhivago was one of her favorite films.  When we were at a hotel spending time with her and all the family, there was a piano player during tea and she requested this song.  I love all three of the versions I linked.  Henry Mancini’s is similar to the film score, it has that wonderful shimmery feel to it.  Chet Atkins’ is simple yet inspiring, just completely beautiful.  Ray Conniff’s has that dreamy, swinging feel to it that just makes me want to waltz.  I love you, Grandma!  MSN redrose

“Unchained Melody” by The Righteous Brothers

“Unchained Melody” by Il Divo

Truth be told, both the original and the gorgeous foreign language version by Il Divo can bring tears to my eyes.  The music is nothing less than incredible and I need not mention the lyrics.  *dreamy sigh*

“Home In The Meadow” by Debbie Reynolds from How The West Was Won

Debbie Reynolds’ voice is like a lullaby to me, partly because of this song from this film, and partly because she is the voice of Charlotte in Charlotte’s Web, which I watched over and over growing up.  Her voice, while comforting, also makes me incredibly emotional and often sad.  I could listen to this song forever.

“No Bravery” by James Blunt

If the music and lyrics weren’t devastating enough, there are many live versions of this song on YouTube where James Blunt is in tears sharing this song with his audience.  I’ve linked the album version, as I cannot pick which of the live versions is most moving.

“For The Good Times” by Ray Price

This song comes to mind for several ex’s, and it’s just a sad and lovely song in general.  I’ve certainly cried many a tear listening to it, driving alone in the car.  *sniffles*  One of my all-time favorite songs.

“I Will Always Love You” by Whitney Houston

I purposefully linked this with a Christian The Lion video…  The combination always brings me to tears.  I’m sure a lot of you have heard the story of Christian, but a brief summary is, he was for sale in a store as a cub.  These two men bought him and raised him for a year, then decided to send him out into the wilds of Africa.  About a year after he’d been fully integrated into the wild, they returned to see him, and the result is the climax of this video.  *sniffles*

“Wild Horses” by Natasha Bedingfield from Flicka

As you can see from the last song, I’m a major sucker for animals, and horses are my favorite.  For that reason, I loved the movie Flicka, and the scene where Flicka is taken away is just awful and sad, and this is the song they play during that scene.

“I Dreamed A Dream” by Ruthie Henshall from Les Miserables

I don’t have one particular favorite version of this song, but this is the first one I heard, so I’m using that.  The lyrics slay me every time.

“Life And Death” by Michael Giacchino from Lost

This instrumental is played during several death scenes on one of my favorite TV shows, Lost.  I won’t give away the one that really hurt, but I’ll just say this music both gives me hope, sadness, and tears.

“I Told You So” by Carrie Underwood

This song isn’t linked to anyone in my life, but it always makes me incredibly emotional, as if I know exactly how she’s feeling.

“The Winner Takes It All” by Meryl Streep from Mamma Mia!

This is a very emotional, gut-wrenching scene from Mamma Mia!, which sadly I have yet to see on stage.  But I really do like the film version…humor, sadness, songs, and all the rest.  Meryl Streep is fabulous in this scene and I feel everything she’s feeling…love, shame, despair, anger, resignation…it’s just amazing.

“Angel Standing By” by Jewel from Return To Me

This is from a heartbreaking scene in one of my favorite movies, Return To Me.  The storyline during this song would give anyone chills, and I fight back the tears every single time.  The beauty and the sadness is incredible.

“Goodbye May Seem Forever” by Jeanette Nolan from The Fox And The Hound

This is one of my first memories of trying not to cry.  I was around four and I tried so hard not to cry, but I couldn’t help it.  Conf2

And here’s Daddy’s…

A Song That Has Made Me Cry

I have a very distinct memory of lying in bed, my head buried under a pillow and my covers so my roommate wouldn’t hear, and bawling my eyes out to this song. I was listening to it and thinking of K (past girlfriend) and missing her terribly. She wasn’t actually thousands of miles away, in fact only about 300, but it was enough. I drove to see her about every 3-4 weeks, which was killer on gas because I was a poor college student. But dammit, I loved her, and I did it. Then after two years she dumped me. Not the sharpest crayon on the tree, eh?

By now is should be very obvious that I love my Baby very, very much. She seems to think I’m special for some reason, and that she needs me. I love her and do my best to support her, but I don’t think she really understands just how much I need her… That is why I try my absolute best to give her every shred of love I can muster. She may not agree, but I think she’s amazing and I give of myself freely. So these two songs regularly put the squeeze on my heart. I love you, Baby.

I love kids. I was one myself once even. (Still am in many ways too.  tongue) So it rends my heart when parents are not what they should be. Not every parent or parenting style is the same, and I can accept that. But some parents just… *Sighs* Anyways, the first song is like a knife in the chest to me, not only because it is sad but because of how true and common it is. My own father wasn’t an alcoholic, but despite being present in my life he was still absent in other respects. So I guess the song hits closer to home than I realized. The second gets to me because it’s how I imagine I will be if I ever have children. I believe I’m fairly tough, though like everyone I have weaknesses too. As said before, kids are one of those weaknesses. And it being MY kid? Oh FSM…

Leave a Reply

