Day 9 – A Song That Makes You Hopeful

A Song That Makes You Hopeful

I deal with major depression, so this day’s Challenge was actually really difficult for me.  When I think of hope, I think of the future, or especially of Heaven, but given my state of depression and my massive doubt in God right now, there’s nothing I could think of that actually makes me feel hopeful in either of those areas.  So my songs pretty much represent love and acceptance.  Those are both current things that I can strive for and look for in the here and now.

“Que Sera, Sera” by Doris Day

This song pretty much speaks for itself.  It’s the “Hakuna Matata” of the 50’s.  Sometimes it makes me a little sad, but mostly it makes me feel hopeful that you never know what might happen, and what happens might be good.  No sense worrying about the future, seeing as it’s mostly out of our hands.  I wish I could take its advice a bit easier.  ;)

“Let Your Love Flow” by The Bellamy Brothers

This song almost always lifts my spirits and makes me feel happier.  I love the music and the lyrics and it just leaves me feeling good.  If I made a Happy CD, this would be on it.  I wish the world was a more loving and accepting place.

Here are Daddy’s hopeful songs!  Jump1

A Song that Makes Me Hopeful

Initially I started going through my iTunes just looking for inspiring and hopeful songs that are uplifting. But as usual, I just kept seeing songs that reminded me of my Baby. Then I realized… she is the most uplifting thing in my life right now. She’s not the only thing that helps give me hope, but she’s a big one. To be honest, she’s also one of the strongest sources of uncertainty, so it’s an odd mix. Each of these songs gives me hope though, in its own way. The first gives me hope because I’ve asked her on occasion, “if tomorrow never comes… do you know I love you? Am I showing I love you as much as I can, each and every day? Do you KNOW I love you? Not believe, not hope, not think, are you SURE?” It’s sappy and all, but I’m serious. And it gives me hope that she says, “yes” to all of them. The second gives me hope in that it reminds me you figure life out as you go. You can’t flip to the back of the book and look up all your answers. Life is a growing process, and you’re not done growing till you’re actually planted and helping the daisies grow. Heh, so in a way you’re never really through growing? *Starts playing “Circle of Life”.* The last two are hopeful to me just because they are things that I want to tell my Baby, and telling her sincere things like that makes me feel better and more hopeful. It’s more of an indirect hope, but it’s there.

Leave a Reply

