Day 8 – First Love Song

A Song That Reminds You Of Your First Love

I know I’m weird, but I’m a bit sketchy on how to define “first love”, so I’m just going to include a song for my first two serious loves.  I wasn’t ever in an official relationship with the first, and the second was very short-lived, so…yeah, here’s both…  BigGrin

“Sly” by The Cat Empire

Michael introduced me to a lot of Australian music, and The Cat Empire was by far my favorite.  There’s a handful of their songs I could’ve chosen from, but this is the most strongly-associated song.  Michael and I used to listen to it together all the time.  Unfortunately for me, the situation with him was unrequited, but we had a lot of good times and I loved him for a long while.  I call it my Phantom-complex…going for the mysterious guy who can’t emotionally connect.  But I’m learning and growing!

“Ain’t No Sunshine” by Bill Withers

This song often plays in my head when I think of L.  She was the first girl I fell in love with and I still miss her.  She never knew I associated this song with her…in fact, the other song I was considering for her is a very violent and totally unromantic song.  But I decided to go with the one that has an emotional tie rather than a literal one, so I skipped the song she sent me and went ahead with this one that always makes me homesick for her.  I hope she’s happy, wherever she is.

Here’s Daddy’s!  :)

A Song that Reminds Me of My “First Love”

Today’s challenge was actually rather simple. I consider my first love to be a girl by the name of Kayla. Although I did love a girl before Kayla, that to me was more of a puppy love thing and didn’t really go anywhere at all. To me, Kayla was my first serious girlfriend. She was a fair bit younger than I, so this ended up as “our song”. I still can’t listen to it without thinking of her… I remember I used to drive up in front of where she lived just BLARING this song. I didn’t care that it was an old song or if I got weird looks, I was in love.

One thought on “Day 8 – First Love Song

  1. Vividhunter says:

    I had a situation similar to you with Michael with a fine, young skier who introduced me to John Butler Trio. He wasn’t really my first love, but he’s one of the few people I associate a particular band with ^^

Leave a Reply

