Day 4 – A Song That Calms You Down

A Song That Calms You Down

“How Deep Is Your Love” by The BeeGees

This song reminds me of a song I knew when I was little…it’s possible this is the song, but I rather doubt it, given my Christian-music-only upbringing.  But I heard this song again just after my parents divorced, and it’s haunted and comforted me, since.  The woman who lived above us in the first apartment we moved to after the divorce used to play this song over and over.  I assume it was as soothing to her as it became to me.

“Besame Mucho” by Jessy J

I found this song by chance on an album I got for a different song…and immediately fell in love with it.  It is by far one of the most calming songs I’ve ever heard, and just makes me want to drift off into a safe slumber.  I used to listen to it as I was driving to work on the days I’d open – 4:00 A.M. and not another car in sight, only the dark and me and this music drifting through the night.  :)

Daddy’s songs!

A Song that Calms You Down

Today’s challenge was actually rather easy, if a bit different. Typically a song appeals to me because something in the lyrics catches my ear and I identify with it. These songs however… I’m not even sure I know the lyrics in their entirety. For once it’s not the lyrics that are comforting and calming. The sinuous music is powerful yet calming. I have a lot of trouble describing it, but I can hear these songs and I just drift into peace. I still feel, and often they send me to an emotional place, but its calm. I feel ready, powerful, and calm. Ready in that I feel competent and encouraged that I can take on whatever it is that is thrown at me. Powerful in that I have the strength and tools I need to fight. But calm, in that I’m not out of control or on fire TO fight. I struggle to find the words to express how I feel when I focus on these songs, but it is the music and the voices that weave their spell on my soul, not the words.

Leave a Reply

