Day 3 – Parent Songs

A Song That Reminds You Of One/Both Of Your Parents

Music Box Dancer 1

Mom…

“Music Box Dancer” by Frank Mills

I remember being four or five years old and always seeing the sheet music to this song sitting on our old Kincaid piano.  We had two versions – one was Easy Piano, the other was a bit more difficult.  Mom didn’t know how to play the piano but she loved this song, so she used to work on learning it.  She would get pretty good, then not play it for a few years, then try to learn again.  It’s been a long time since she asked to play the piano in my room, but I have heard her listening to the song on YouTube in her room every once in awhile.  This song makes me feel happy and sad at the same time, but I really love it.  It’s very sweet and pretty…simple, yet when I play it I want to hear it over and over.

Music Box Dancer 2

“O Holy Night” by Twila Paris with Matthew Ward

It’s been a tradition that this is the first Christmas song we play every year, while decorating the house.  It always makes Mom get teary-eyed and it has become one of my favorite Christmas songs, as well.  Several years ago, Mom and I drove several hours to see Twila Paris in concert and got to meet with her and talk for quite awhile.  She was lovely.  Matthew Ward was part of the singing group 2nd Chapter Of Acts, whom my parents lived in close proximity with at a Christian community in the early 80’s.  His CD My Redeemer has some of my favorite worship songs.

t.s.d…

“The Reason” by Hoobastank

I’ve loved this song since long before it had any familial associations, but some time after my parents divorced, this song came on my iPod during a car trip with my mom and my brother, and my brother said quietly after it was done, “That would be a good song for Dad to give to Mom, if he ever changed.”  I can’t help thinking about that now, every time I hear it, and remember how he never did change.

I’m sorry that I hurt you
It’s something I must live with every day
And all the pain I put you through
I wish that I could take it all away
And be the one who catches all your tears
That’s why I need you to hear


I’ve found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
And the reason is you

11-7-09 (10)

“From The Rising Of The Sun” by The Maranatha! Singers

I honestly never heard a recorded version of this song, so I’m just linking the only one I found that has the same melody and lyrics I grew up with.  t.s.d. used to play guitar and sing this song, often at night while my brother and I were falling asleep.  When we got older we used to sing it to each other from our rooms as we were going to bed.

Here’s MY Daddy’s songs…  And for anyone who’s just coming to my blog, my Daddy is a totally different person from t.s.d.  My Daddy is my lover, my comforter, and the one who accepts and loves me for who I am.  Love1

A Song that Reminds Me of One/Both My Parents

Ironically, this song now invariably reminds me of my Mom. In my family we like to play music games. The most common one is we list a portion of the lyrics and everyone else is supposed to try and figure out the song and artist. My Mom isn’t known in our family for being able to recognize songs, so it surprised me when this song came on while I was giving her a ride somewhere and she turned and asked, “is that C.W. McCall and Convoy?” I was shocked, and the connection between mom and this song was made.

Okay, so I’ll be honest and say picking a song for Dad was MUCH harder. I have SO many songs in my head that are associated with my Dad because he is the one who actually introduced me to music. From John Anderson to the Beatles, Three Dog Night to Joe Diffie, Acappella to Marty Robbins, Henry Mancini to Randy Travis. I grew up on a lot of classic rock and country, with smatterings of classical and easy listening. But one song that is forever tied to him is “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” by Gordon Lightfoot. It has to be one of his most FAVORITE songs, because I remember him playing it frequently when I was a kid. It’s a haunting song, and I do like it. So there, that’s my song for my Dad.  The other is just a running joke between him and me, so every time I hear it, I think of him. I’m not actually sure how the joke got started, but it has, and we laugh about it.

Leave a Reply

