Bare Skin…Why I Don’t Wear Make-Up

So, I don’t wear make-up. This seems a curiosity to a lot of guys, so I figured I would address it. For the record, no, I’m not wearing a stitch of make-up in any of my pictures. I think I really only have one set of pictures on my computer with me wearing any…if someone cares to see, just poke me with something interesting and I might put one up.

I don’t have any deep objection to make-up, just a slightly unique personal viewpoint. I simply don’t have any desire to present a front that is not legitimate. For instance, my aunt has a very thin silhouette, so she spikes it by wearing a heavily padded bra, and magically becomes an hourglass figure. That’s all well and good for everyday “use”, but what happens when she dates a man and the clothes come off? They’re in for a shock. I feel the same, regarding make-up.

I have no interest in luring people in with a “picture” of something I am not. There are other emotional reasons that affect this subject, but maybe we can get into that another time. I’m not opposed to make-up for every occasion…last year, we went to a Broadway show in New York, and dressed to the nines and were professionally airbrushed. That was an exception to the norm, and it was a fun experience. But I could count on one hand the number of times I’ve worn mascara. It’s just not something I would ever waste my time on. I am who I am…take me or leave me.

Wow, I think that’s the most I’ve ever talked about make-up…quick! Say something to diffuse the girly flavor in the air! Where are my New Rock Boots and bondage pants?

Leave a Reply

